Ostara 2017

Merry meet everyone. I hope you all had a wonderful Spring day. My Ostara -otherwise known as the Spring Equinox- celebration was quiet. I’m the only one in my family that celebrates the pagan holidays so I do a lot of things on my own.

My spring time begins with a ritual to welcome the coming of spring. I feel the earth begin to thrive with the warming of the sun that’s starting to get closer. I imagine the waters are becoming thawed from it’s encasement of winter. The birds are singing, “it’s a beautiful day outside,” so what shall we do to celebrate it?

Last year was too cold and rainy to do too much of a celebration. I was happy with this year since the month had been summer-warm. I was able to go out to Chandor Gardens located in Weatherford, Texas. It’s a small and cozy garden and there’s so much to see. I took too many pictures for me to post them all in a blog, so I hope you’re satisfied with the ones I did choose.

IMG_20170320_140700The first thing that I noticed when I walked through the entrance of the garden was the tulips and some of the blooming flowers. Usually March is still in throes of winter. The flowers wouldn’t be blooming in the summer either as the humidity is harsh on them. To see them in all of their glory was a welcoming sight. I wasn’t expecting a bunch of tulips either. The garden has plenty of different kinds of plants and flowers, but the most common was the tulips. I don’t know why, but usually gardens would be more keen to have roses or at least so I thought.

IMG_20170320_134911To my surprise and wonderment, there were baby koi in the small pond that they had created. I have only ever seen adults, so seeing the babies was a treat. I counted about thirteen, though it’s possible I doubled my count. They were gorgeous and adorable. It made me hope that I’ll come back to see them as adults.

As I walked through the gardens I noticed a few things had changed since I last went around. One of the few things that did change was that there were more sitting areas. They were also making a few more patios for people to sit in and stand underneath so they could get some shade.

IMG_20170320_140011To my disappointment, they didn’t do much with the labyrinth. It’s mostly made of gravel and the outline of it is brick. Unless you know the layout or you have a map, going around it is hard to do. It’s not easy to keep track since the gravel covers the maze walls. I wish that they would do something so that the brick would be more like a miniature wall rather than a hint.

IMG_20170320_140325The most interesting thing (besides the baby koi and their parents) was the rock fountain that was made inside of a building. I’m sure it was there during the last few times I visited. Either I just never noticed or I just didn’t remember that I’ve seen it before. It’s quite soothing to sit down and listen to the fountain behind you. You could close your eyes and meditate, or you could read a book with ambiance. The sight that lays out in front of you is beautiful as well.

IMG_20170320_140405

It’s almost like entrance towards another version of a dream. The long trees have yet to have their leaves, but when they do, the pathway would just be magnificent to see.  The trail leads you to a fountain that’s just right in the middle of another walkway. There’s one that goes close around it, and one that’s just an outer ring filled with tulips and a chair that sits right across from the fountain. The fountain is large and has two dragon statues spitting water into the pool. It’s not the most glamorous of fountains as a hedge prevents you from seeing most of it unless you’re in the outer ring. However, if you don’t want to sit and look at trees and you’re more of a flower person, sitting across this fountain would suit your needs as well. It’s in a better location for shade, so you’ll be cooled off in no time.IMG_20170320_135739

Speaking of cooling off, if sitting down and listening to a fountain isn’t your speed, there’s a huge waterfall just around the bend of where you’d find the koi. You won’t be able to stand completely underneath it, but you can get fairly close. Sadly shade isn’t your option unless the sun is hitting in the right spot. The mist from the waterfall also depends on what the direction the breeze is going. However, if you can managed to get one of the two or both if you’re extremely lucky, the Texas heat and humidity would be easy to defeat. The waterfall also has a log sitting place that they have started to scatter throughout the gardens, but you won’t be near the mist. You will be able to hear the roar of it and you’ll be able to see it if you were wanting to meditate and you were craving punishment from the sun since there’s no chance for shade.

Chandor gardens isn’t free admission unless your four or younger. The cost is five dollars and you’re allowed to spend as much time as you like so long as you leave by closing. Sometimes they allow you to feed the koi, and you’re welcome to explore the gardens to your leisure. There’s no guided tour so you’re able to walk around and see the sights as you please. Don’t worry though, you’re given a walking map so you know what and where everything is. Since I’ve been there a few times, I like to carve my own path and look around by skipping from place to place.

Next year, I plan to go to the Botanical Gardens of Forth Worth. Hopefully next Spring will be warm and sunny like this year, though I do hope for a cooler breeze. I recommend that if you’re the type to celebrate the coming of spring, regardless of religion and belief, to go visit your local botanical gardens. It’s refreshing to step out of the city and into a small paradise like this.

This year was a wonderful Ostara, where the plants were in bloom, babies were seen, and most importantly the greenery wasn’t dead or dying. The heat was bearable and the breeze was a little cool. I enjoyed welcoming spring with my tour of Chandor Gardens and I hope you all have a blessed Spring, no matter what you believe in.

IMG_20170320_140348

 

Leave a Reply

